Support

If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com

There are 3 sections to this support area:

DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers

HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects

USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here

NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum

Need a quick intro on using the com port

For general discussion related FlowStone

Need a quick intro on using the com port

Postby Asbjørn » Tue Jul 12, 2011 5:00 pm

I got myself an old serial SpaceBall 4000FLX because it doesnt seem like Flowstone will get support for the 3DConnexxion Space Navigator USB.

I found a document describing the protocol it uses, but I have no experience with the com port. I would really appreciate it if you could make me a small example using one or two of the commands in this document so I can understand how it works.

http://lists.unc.edu/read/attachment/1682004/5/a4_public.1.20.doc

Thanks!
Asbjørn

Re: Need a quick intro on using the com port

Postby Embedded » Wed Jul 13, 2011 3:52 am

Here you go!

The only thing you need to set is the correct Com port number. On some OS only Com 1-8 work, so you might have to force the comport number in this range in the device manager.

I have added the Beep command and the Data Enable so that the device will send positional data etc.

Let me know if it works?
Attachments
SpaceBall Test.fsm
(508 Bytes) Downloaded 1333 times
Embedded

Postby Asbjørn » Wed Jul 13, 2011 3:27 pm

It works perfectly! Thank you! :D
Now I'll try to get the different buttons on the device working, and then try to decode the positional data from the ball. I'll post the result.