Support

If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com

There are 3 sections to this support area:

DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers

HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects

USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here

Editing RubyEdit class

For general discussion related FlowStone

Re: Editing RubyEdit class

Postby Exo » Thu Aug 21, 2014 9:32 pm

trogluddite wrote:
Exo wrote:To work we would need to copy the original code as a new string object and append the number to the beginning of each line manually and then this could be displayed.

Yes, and there is a sneaky way to do it.
Systems are down at home at the moment for some home improvements, but I have it working and can post later.

The trick is to hijack a RubyEdit method called "parse" - it gets called every time the code is edited. IIRC, I intercepted the input arguments by doing something like this...

Code: Select all
def parse(*args, &block)
  @code_string = args[0]  # May not be the right index!
  super(*args, &block)  # Hand control back to the original method
end


@Exo - take a look in the code tracer prototype I sent you. it is in there somewhere.


Thanks Trog will take a look :)
Flowstone Guru. Blog and download site for Flowstone.
Best VST Plugins. Initial Audio.
Exo
 
Posts: 439
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 8:58 pm
Location: UK

Re: Editing RubyEdit class

Postby Nubeat7 » Thu Aug 21, 2014 9:45 pm

@exo oh, ok, thanks for clearing this
trogluddite wrote:The trick is to hijack a RubyEdit method called "parse" - it gets called every time the code is edited. IIRC, I intercepted the input arguments by doing something like this...


i knew there would be a way with this parse methode but its out of my skills, the code tracer sounds very interesting :)

btw in the original parse methode you can find
Code: Select all
# Set up our own commands
      schemCmds = ["output","input","watch","releaseMouse","captureMouse",
                "redraw","time","parent","caption","alert","showCursor"]

just was asking myself what these are : "parent","caption","alert" ?
User avatar
Nubeat7
 
Posts: 1388
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:59 am
Location: Vienna

Re: Editing RubyEdit class

Postby MyCo » Thu Aug 21, 2014 9:55 pm

The only way you can insert line numbers, is to draw the code token by token to a view. This ends up in a massive code because you have to measure each tokens "printed" size and then move the drawing offset for the next token by the "printed" size of the previous token.

The code in the system.fsm is just a tokenizer that at the end pushes to an array the colors for the chars in a structure something like that:
From char 1 to char 5 use color X
From char 6 to char 8 use color Y
...

So the text itself is readonly and the return (array with char colors) is used by FlowStone to draw the text that it provided to the parse method
User avatar
MyCo
 
Posts: 764
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Editing RubyEdit class

Postby Nubeat7 » Fri Aug 22, 2014 8:30 am

i found a solution to get the written code as text, for this i made a little easy methode in the system.fsm

Code: Select all
#return the encoded v input from the parse methode which is called by FS when typing
def getTxt
     return @v   
   end
   def parse v,f

      sourceLines = Array.new
      v.each_line {|s| sourceLines.push s}
      startIndex=0
      lineStartIndeces=[0]
      startIndex=v.index("\n",0)
      while startIndex
         lineStartIndeces<<(startIndex+1)
         startIndex=v.index("\n",startIndex+2)
      end
            
      v.force_encoding "utf-8"
      @v=v    #make v avaliable for the getTxt methode
.
.
.


like this you can do
Code: Select all
codeStr = self.getTxt

but i think that this is not a very beautiful solution, can we do this to use @ variables in another class methode?
but i don't know how else to get whats typed in...
User avatar
Nubeat7
 
Posts: 1388
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:59 am
Location: Vienna

Re: Editing RubyEdit class

Postby Nubeat7 » Fri Aug 22, 2014 9:09 pm

ok, here is a more or less well working solution which shows the code including linenr, like described above you would need to add the small methode and the @v variable in the parse methode to work,

Code: Select all
        #define the getTxt methode including linenr prepend
   def getTxt
        x = 'code with line numbers:'
             @v.split("\n").each_with_index do |l,ln|
                 x += l.prepend("\n"+"%03d"%ln.to_s+'    ')
             end
        return x   
   end
   def parse v,f

      sourceLines = Array.new
      v.each_line {|s| sourceLines.push s}
      startIndex=0
      lineStartIndeces=[0]
      startIndex=v.index("\n",0)
      while startIndex
         lineStartIndeces<<(startIndex+1)
         startIndex=v.index("\n",startIndex+2)
      end
            
      v.force_encoding "utf-8"
      @v=v

as you can see i did some changes in the getTxt methode in the system.fsm to prepend the linenr

so all you need to do is to call self.getTxt and output it to a text window
Attachments
show code with linenr.fsm
(3.65 KiB) Downloaded 150 times
Last edited by Nubeat7 on Fri Aug 22, 2014 9:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Nubeat7
 
Posts: 1388
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:59 am
Location: Vienna

Re: Editing RubyEdit class

Postby Exo » Fri Aug 22, 2014 9:24 pm

Good stuff Nubeat7

I think that is a fine solution, of course no syntax colouring but that doesn't matter. At least we can see the line numbers for debugging.

I think a minor improvement would be to just send self to the output and call getTxt within the prepend linenr module saves a bit of typing

My only concern is with modifying the system.fsm , because when we update FS this will be overridden. The only other way would be to include it in the schematic basically just redefine RubyEdit, which would also be a bit of a pain if it isn't parsed first.

But at least it is working :)

Edit.. You changed the file :twisted: yes sending text straight out like that is even better I think. :)
Flowstone Guru. Blog and download site for Flowstone.
Best VST Plugins. Initial Audio.
Exo
 
Posts: 439
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 8:58 pm
Location: UK

Re: Editing RubyEdit class

Postby Nubeat7 » Fri Aug 22, 2014 9:30 pm

Exo wrote:I think a minor improvement would be to just send self to the output and call getTxt within the prepend linenr module saves a bit of typing ;)


just edited the post from before - i included the linenr prepending directly in the getTxt methode in the system.fsm...

yes, if fs updates to the next version it would get overriden, but maybe they like the idea and provide some similar stuff!? or include the linenr in the editor anyway one day :)
User avatar
Nubeat7
 
Posts: 1388
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:59 am
Location: Vienna

Re: Editing RubyEdit class

Postby Nubeat7 » Fri Aug 22, 2014 9:35 pm

Exo wrote: yes sending text straight out like that is even better I think. :)


yes! good idea now you can also use
Code: Select all
watch 'code with linenr', self.getTxt
:)
User avatar
Nubeat7
 
Posts: 1388
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:59 am
Location: Vienna

Re: Editing RubyEdit class

Postby Exo » Fri Aug 22, 2014 9:48 pm

Nubeat7 wrote:
Exo wrote: yes sending text straight out like that is even better I think. :)


yes! good idea now you can also use
Code: Select all
watch 'code with linenr', self.getTxt
:)


Good point! that is definitely a better way for debugging :)
Flowstone Guru. Blog and download site for Flowstone.
Best VST Plugins. Initial Audio.
Exo
 
Posts: 439
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 8:58 pm
Location: UK

Re: Editing RubyEdit class

Postby MyCo » Sat Aug 23, 2014 6:49 am

You can do that a lot easier, without having to modify the system.fsm. See attached file... just copy the blue module at the top into the schematic where you want to use that feature. Or just open that Schematic once and edit another file (all schematics in the same FlowStone instance get modified)
Attachments
RubyEdit Code Output (MyCo).fsm
(1.13 KiB) Downloaded 180 times
User avatar
MyCo
 
Posts: 764
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:33 pm
Location: Germany

PreviousNext

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests