Support

If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com

There are 3 sections to this support area:

DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers

HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects

USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here

COM port does not work

For general discussion related FlowStone

COM port does not work

Postby ami6 » Tue Aug 10, 2010 3:23 pm

In my evaluation process I want to test the comport. I try to use ComRcvStr.
I get it to log COM1: open COM1:Close on opening and closing but it does not register incoming data.
Is this a limitation in the Free version or ?

Bertil
CLC SYSTEMS AB
ami6
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 4:01 pm

Re: COM port does not work

Postby admin » Wed Aug 11, 2010 11:14 pm

The only limitation of FlowStone FREE is that you can only have one COM port device at any time.

You say you are using ComRcvStr (Com Port Receive Strings) is it strings that you are receiving or byte data?

There is also a ComRcv for Byte data which is a different module.

I would suggest the you try sending data first as it is easier to setup. Obviously make sure you have the correct: Baud, Stop bits, Data Width, Parity etc.

There is a COM Port example in the Example Schematics you can download called: LynxMotion SSC-32 Servo Controller
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 232
Joined: Tue May 11, 2010 6:30 pm

Re: COM port does not work

Postby ami6 » Fri Aug 13, 2010 8:44 am

Tested some more

Sending a string works.

ComRcv for Byte data works

ComRcvStr does not work. Testing with a string Hello + CR nothing recived and no events logged.

/Bertil
ami6
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 4:01 pm

Re: COM port does not work

Postby admin » Sat Sep 04, 2010 5:19 am

FYI: we have just made a new COM Port module that does everything in one module (Strings and Hex Data In & Out).

This should solve any issues you had and make it easier to use. Also it means that you will be able to get data in and out in FlowStone FREE as it is a single module :)

This will be in the new update next week!
Attachments
ComPort.png
New Comport Component Image
ComPort.png (13.3 KiB) Viewed 11505 times
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 232
Joined: Tue May 11, 2010 6:30 pm

Re: COM port does not work

Postby admin » Tue Sep 07, 2010 11:30 pm

New COM port is now released in FlowStone FREE V1.08 - Download it for free!
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 232
Joined: Tue May 11, 2010 6:30 pm

Re: COM port does not work

Postby sunday » Tue Sep 28, 2010 8:11 am

Hi,

I have similar problem but with the new release comport module.
I am using flowstone from my notebook to communicate with a calibrator through com port 1
Using Moxa Uport 1110 USB to RS232 converter to the calibrator's com port
I am able
1. open and close the com port
2. log the activity on com port

but unable to get any feedback
It works fine when using hyperterminal with the same setting and command.
9600 baud
8 data bits
1 stop bit
no parity
Xon/Xoff
Command : "*IDN?"

I try changing to com: 2,3,...20 but can only work with com:1.
Please advice
sunday
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 7:53 am


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests