Support

If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com

There are 3 sections to this support area:

DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers

HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects

USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here

NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum

Graphical drop-down selector

For general discussion related FlowStone

Graphical drop-down selector

Postby HughBanton » Sun Mar 20, 2022 11:45 am

I'm not very good at graphics! Never really been my thing ... :oops:

The other day I was visualing a drop-down list selector, that instead of displaying a list of numerical options - like the regular DropList prim does - would instead display a group of bitmap icons or shapes that you could click on, and output an index number from that. Would improve the user experience I think.

For example, instead of it listing 1: Sine 2: Saw 3: Square 4: Triangle 5: Noise, we'd have four pics of the wave shapes to click on. Or it could be Left Speaker, Right Speaker, Centre Speaker. I'm personally currectly looking at updating my 'stereo-distribution' selector but it could be anything - Trains, Planes, Automobiles if you like ...

Anyone ever done anything like this? I made a good start on suitable graphics, and managed to get the click & index-select bit to work OK in Ruby using mouse-over etc. But stumped how to make such a graphic group appear and disappear as required, like the drop-list does.

Grateful for any inspiration :D

H
HughBanton

Re: Graphical drop-down selector

Postby tulamide » Sun Mar 20, 2022 6:01 pm

The easiest probably is to use .setShowInParent and a view that only contains the list.
You can have it invisible unless the "menu item" in the main view is clicked.