Support

If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com

There are 3 sections to this support area:

DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers

HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects

USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here

NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum

proper resync plus offset?

For general discussion related FlowStone

proper resync plus offset?

Postby tester » Mon Apr 25, 2022 2:50 pm

I'm not sure how to handle this one, so that resync starts the ramp from initial offset (and then goes full range).
Attachments
ramp resync+offset.fsm
(31.01 KiB) Downloaded 358 times
Need to take a break? I have something right for you.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
tester
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:52 pm
Location: Poland, internet

Re: proper resync plus offset?

Postby Tepeix » Mon Apr 25, 2022 5:57 pm

Here's how i would do.
(Not sure, but i think that the tick/timer part could sometime not work.
in my machine i could click on it with no effect, i increased the time value but now it stay on a little time..)
Attachments
Ramp resync+offsetv2.fsm
(29.72 KiB) Downloaded 358 times
Tepeix
 
Posts: 350
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2021 3:11 pm

Re: proper resync plus offset?

Postby tester » Mon Apr 25, 2022 6:53 pm

Thanks.

You are right, at short times, sometimes clicker doesn't work.

Which raises an interesting question, because blue components theoretically are 'hardwired', i.e. (at least to what I understand) they shouldn't miss any green value (comparing sample rate to green tick). Anyone any idea why this is happening?

On the other hand - is there other way to address the resync function, to make it 1:1 compatible with resync node on stock oscillators? From what I see, they react to streambool 0 to 1 change.
Need to take a break? I have something right for you.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
tester
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:52 pm
Location: Poland, internet

Re: proper resync plus offset?

Postby tester » Tue Apr 26, 2022 10:08 am

I think I fixed problem with resync and missing triggers, it can now be formatted to other needs.

Quick question. Can this be simplified in terms of performance?
Attachments
Ramp resync+offsetv2a.fsm
(30.51 KiB) Downloaded 370 times
Need to take a break? I have something right for you.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
tester
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:52 pm
Location: Poland, internet

Re: proper resync plus offset?

Postby Tepeix » Tue Apr 26, 2022 2:51 pm

Good solution !
I think that the way to make it perform faster is to make it in asm.
But will it be so much fast ? For short code i'm not sure..

I was also working on something for the tick to blue in one sample.
(needed also one) Not sure which solution is faster..
(I need to read and write 2 time and to subtract 2 time when there's no ticks
but i plan a hopped version)

I will post it in example.

I was also surprise that the tick could not fire.
Normally 1 ms is supposed to stay 44 sample.
But the windows timer distort time.
(this also means that it could make more calculation when it have the time)
So 1 ms could be less than one sample or 1200 sample. I suppose it's machine dependent.
Tepeix
 
Posts: 350
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2021 3:11 pm

Re: proper resync plus offset?

Postby tester » Tue Apr 26, 2022 6:23 pm

ASM is outside my boundaries, I'm better in wiring green relationships.

Basically this ramp module will drive a mixer/rotator, and everything x24 or so.

Since these are very analog setups, I'm using hard resync, to reset phase relationships between all oscillators, because this changes sound very much.

For this module, to make it compatible with stock oscillators (in terms of resync), instead abs, min/max function should be used, to make it react only to bool-to-true. I will post it tomorrow... or next week. Global resync can be handled so, that a green-whatever-thing (solution from here) is converted to blue output, and this output is then redistributed as sample-accurate reset for all else.

btw, I'm a bit surprised, that this graph I use inside - captures all blue impulses. I will re-extract the routine for further testing, because this raises interesting question about syncing between green and blue data.
Need to take a break? I have something right for you.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
tester
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:52 pm
Location: Poland, internet

Re: proper resync plus offset?

Postby Spogg » Wed Apr 27, 2022 11:08 am

I’ve had a look through this topic and schematics and I wanted to ask why do you want to sync an oscillator from the green world? :?

Green is low priority for the CPU and uses the Windows timer which is notoriously inaccurate. Also any critical green timing can behave somewhat unpredictably as schematics increase in complexity. Finally, a VST’s green processing will usually behave differently and faster than a schematic in the FS editor which has more overheads to deal with. I’ve actually had many situations where green processing doesn’t work properly in a schematic but does in a VST. Admittedly, this is more likely when there’s a lot of re-drawing going on.
User avatar
Spogg
 
Posts: 3318
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 4:24 pm
Location: Birmingham, England

Re: proper resync plus offset?

Postby tester » Wed Apr 27, 2022 11:34 am

You probably missunderstood something.

Live preview and parameter modification --> green resync button --> single bule resync sender --> multiple blue receivers.

Resyncing that way allows to hear what you will get on VST export.
This solution works as expected, I always get what I hear.
As you can see in the "diagram" above, the green part is irrelevant here, as syncing goes from blue part to blue all else.

As for module that is analyzed in this topic - it's not really an oscillator, but a sort of driver/timer.
Need to take a break? I have something right for you.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
tester
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:52 pm
Location: Poland, internet

Re: proper resync plus offset?

Postby tester » Wed Apr 27, 2022 11:37 am

Take this example.

In order to control pitches, vibes, phases and timings, you need a way to reset this thing after changing parameters.
Need to take a break? I have something right for you.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
tester
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:52 pm
Location: Poland, internet

Re: proper resync plus offset?

Postby Spogg » Wed Apr 27, 2022 12:43 pm

tester wrote:You probably missunderstood something.


Yes I think I did misunderstand! :lol:

I was just curious about the application.
User avatar
Spogg
 
Posts: 3318
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 4:24 pm
Location: Birmingham, England

Next

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 37 guests