Support

If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com

There are 3 sections to this support area:

DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers

HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects

USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here

Martin - pick a GUI for Karplus synth?

Post any examples or modules that you want to share here

Re: Martin - pick a GUI for Karplus synth?

Postby k brown » Mon May 20, 2019 10:31 am

Well after a bit more mucking and head-scratching I got partway there technically - figured out how to bypass the KS internal noise source and connect the synth's osc and/or noise. But yeah, even with Martin's correlations above, I can't figure out which controls I can eliminate and still have it function somewhat as described (sketchily) in the Accelerator manual. Panel real estate is limited and Martin's build has several controls not on the Accelerator. Also the Acc. String Filter has three mod inputs: Tune, Feedback and Damp, Martin's K-S has no mod inputs and I can't quite work out how/where they'd be added.

I can buy some real estate buy ditching the EQ - better to have the K-S; then I can just include all Martin's controls; if I can just figure out the three modulation inputs.
Plug-ins can be downloaded here:
https://cp.sync.com/files/355278247

Website for the plugins : http://kbrownsynthplugins.weebly.com/
k brown
 
Posts: 450
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 7:10 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA USA

Re: Martin - pick a GUI for Karplus synth?

Postby Spogg » Mon May 20, 2019 10:52 am

k brown wrote:I can buy some real estate buy ditching the EQ - better to have the K-S; then I can just include all Martin's controls; if I can just figure out the three modulation inputs.


Yeah that sounds better! I've never been a great fan of having eq on a synth. You can do that easily in the DAW.
I expect someone will put me right on that view! :lol:

BTW, I didn't see a preset manager in the synth. Maybe it was hidden away somewhere...

Cheers

Spogg
User avatar
Spogg
 
Posts: 2170
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 4:24 pm
Location: Birmingham, England

Re: Martin - pick a GUI for Karplus synth?

Postby k brown » Mon May 20, 2019 11:03 am

Yes all the versions I've saved have one - the first one I posted, it's probably hidden behind a panel GUI.

To bed now - 3am here.
Plug-ins can be downloaded here:
https://cp.sync.com/files/355278247

Website for the plugins : http://kbrownsynthplugins.weebly.com/
k brown
 
Posts: 450
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 7:10 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA USA

Re: Martin - pick a GUI for Karplus synth?

Postby lalalandsynth » Mon May 20, 2019 11:28 am

I second that , no need for eq on a synth.
User avatar
lalalandsynth
 
Posts: 520
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2016 12:48 pm

Re: Martin - pick a GUI for Karplus synth?

Postby k brown » Mon May 20, 2019 5:20 pm

Yep.

I do think I'll do two versions of this, because I do Like the sound of the 'country boy's' comb filter.

Do I need to worry about this inside the K-S IV?

1pole HiCut.jpg
1pole HiCut.jpg (129.19 KiB) Viewed 1300 times

Was this module superseded?
Plug-ins can be downloaded here:
https://cp.sync.com/files/355278247

Website for the plugins : http://kbrownsynthplugins.weebly.com/
k brown
 
Posts: 450
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 7:10 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA USA

Re: Martin - pick a GUI for Karplus synth?

Postby k brown » Tue May 21, 2019 7:06 pm

I fixed this by toggling the Ruby inside the 'error alert' module off, then on.
Plug-ins can be downloaded here:
https://cp.sync.com/files/355278247

Website for the plugins : http://kbrownsynthplugins.weebly.com/
k brown
 
Posts: 450
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 7:10 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA USA

Re: Martin - pick a GUI for Karplus synth?

Postby k brown » Tue May 21, 2019 8:05 pm

@Martin -

The 'randomOsc4' synth is truly beautiful. Eagerly awaiting further development. :P
Plug-ins can be downloaded here:
https://cp.sync.com/files/355278247

Website for the plugins : http://kbrownsynthplugins.weebly.com/
k brown
 
Posts: 450
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 7:10 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA USA

Re: Martin - pick a GUI for Karplus synth?

Postby martinvicanek » Wed May 22, 2019 3:43 am

k brown wrote:Martin - have you had a chance to look at my website to see if there's a GUI style (or combination thereof) you'd like for KS IV?

So much to choose from, your site is overwhelming. twoBYthree is cool!
User avatar
martinvicanek
 
Posts: 915
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2013 8:28 pm

Re: Martin - pick a GUI for Karplus synth?

Postby k brown » Tue Jun 04, 2019 9:21 pm

Two By Three's GUI is based on a commercial plug-in (Ableton Operator), so best to stay away from that. Since you seemed pleased with the GUI for RandomOsc 4, here's K-S IV (with Spogg's additions and presets) in that style.

K-S IV_s copy.jpg
K-S IV_s copy.jpg (26.68 KiB) Viewed 1012 times

K-S IV_s.fsm
(220.78 KiB) Downloaded 23 times

And a 'lite' version with just the Karplus, stripped of the effects.
K-S IV.fsm
(155.35 KiB) Downloaded 23 times


With FS 3.0.8.1
Last edited by k brown on Mon Jun 10, 2019 3:48 am, edited 2 times in total.
Plug-ins can be downloaded here:
https://cp.sync.com/files/355278247

Website for the plugins : http://kbrownsynthplugins.weebly.com/
k brown
 
Posts: 450
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 7:10 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA USA

Re: Martin - pick a GUI for Karplus synth?

Postby wlangfor@uoguelph.ca » Wed Jun 05, 2019 12:48 am

lalalandsynth wrote:I second that , no need for eq on a synth.


Maybe You're right but I often rely on them.. :(

Downloaded Your Synth BTW Kevin, thanks :D
Download VST: LA Bands 15 Band EQ
My Website http://www.leattol.com
User avatar
wlangfor@uoguelph.ca
 
Posts: 508
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2018 5:50 pm
Location: Penetanguishene, Ontario, Canada

PreviousNext

Return to User Examples

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests

cron