Support

If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com

There are 3 sections to this support area:

DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers

HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects

USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here

NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum

ruby keyboard

Post any examples or modules that you want to share here

ruby keyboard

Postby Nubeat7 » Fri Oct 24, 2014 10:39 pm

hi all,
here is a keyboard built with ruby,

i tried to comment the code with sense but some parts will be a bit confusing because it has 2 area containers one for black notes and one for white notes - it was the only way for me to make it work, maybe there are some better ways to built it up

its fully resizeable and also offers a latch mode where you can turn notes on with one click and off with a second click on the note.

v.04 : fixed out of range bug when dragging out of keyboard area
v.06 : last fix did just half of its job (4.3.15)
rubykeyboard_006.fsm
(29.98 KiB) Downloaded 1456 times


v.08 bmp: the bitmap version which uses images for the the keys
rubykeyboard_008bmp.fsm
(45.28 KiB) Downloaded 1391 times

key.png
key.png (30.97 KiB) Viewed 34729 times
Last edited by Nubeat7 on Fri Feb 19, 2016 9:06 am, edited 14 times in total.
User avatar
Nubeat7
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:59 am
Location: Vienna

Re: ruby keyboard

Postby Exo » Fri Oct 24, 2014 11:35 pm

Nice work NuBeat, resizable too :)

I think the structure is fine, keeping the black and white keys separate makes sense to me.

Thanks for sharing.
Flowstone Guru. Blog and download site for Flowstone.
Best VST Plugins. Initial Audio.
Exo
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 8:58 pm
Location: UK

Re: ruby keyboard

Postby RJHollins » Fri Oct 24, 2014 11:50 pm

Just a fast check ... Man you do nice work NuBeat ! 8-)

Will take a closer look later tonite ... thanks for posting !
RJHollins
 
Posts: 1567
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:58 pm

Re: ruby keyboard

Postby nix » Sat Oct 25, 2014 1:19 am

Thanks so much mate!
Structure looks clean IMO
Very nicely done- much appreciated.

DJ Brynte check this mod out man!
Brynte- I can try and hack MIDI in if you like,
but I'm not sure I will succeed,
it will be very difficult for me,
as even simple things in Ruby-
it's hard to find the method, then the right syntax
Let's use this keyboard though prolly hmm

Let's talk about MIDI in if you'd like peeps-
anyone want to get it going?
the first thing to do is parse the MIDI message hash and get the keys IMO
Will perhaps do this tonight. I've done that before with NB's help.
I will get that up in the next few days if this doesn't progress.
I may use some hacks- ie. MIDI split will tell us what we need to know about the incoming MIDI.
I think it functions semi-polyphonically___hmm maybe not ideal though
User avatar
nix
 
Posts: 817
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 10:51 am

Re: ruby keyboard

Postby djbrynte » Sat Oct 25, 2014 9:36 am

Nubeat your the Geek ;) of the geeks :P awesome man i will check this out. Hope it works. Let me let you know later i will test now.
djbrynte
 
Posts: 612
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 10:51 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: ruby keyboard

Postby djbrynte » Sat Oct 25, 2014 11:08 am

Btw you can stop doing pianos it wont work in flowstone. Because if you wana see the midi when its playing it has a bugg. So its useless having a piano in this program. Seem like waste of time. Will always be 100 buggs.

I mean if we should have a piano. Then you wana see when the midi is pressed. Otherwise we can have an image instead. So this piano shit is just to leave.
djbrynte
 
Posts: 612
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 10:51 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: ruby keyboard

Postby djbrynte » Sat Oct 25, 2014 11:09 am

But anyway thanx for the thing :)
djbrynte
 
Posts: 612
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 10:51 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: ruby keyboard

Postby Exo » Sat Oct 25, 2014 11:13 am

Just to give some details of what djbrynte means.

The bug comes when the keyboard is being redraw while notes are playing and you open a drop down selector, it causes the audio to freeze and loop. This is Flowstones thread protection working and look like only way to avoid such a situation is to not redraw the notes with incoming midi.
Flowstone Guru. Blog and download site for Flowstone.
Best VST Plugins. Initial Audio.
Exo
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 8:58 pm
Location: UK

Re: ruby keyboard

Postby djbrynte » Sat Oct 25, 2014 11:30 am

thank you exo. I dont know mybe its working some way. I hope some one have a smart idea for this. Because if flowstone have a working keyboard will be +.
djbrynte
 
Posts: 612
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 10:51 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: ruby keyboard

Postby tulamide » Sat Oct 25, 2014 2:06 pm

Exo wrote:This is Flowstones thread protection working and look like only way to avoid such a situation is to not redraw the notes with incoming midi.
Has anyone already tried Ruby's Thread.new in this context?
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
tulamide
 
Posts: 2686
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
Location: Germany

Next

Return to User Examples

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 28 guests

cron