Support

If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com

There are 3 sections to this support area:

DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers

HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects

USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here

How do I convert a certain HZ range to DB?

DSP related issues, mathematics, processing and techniques

How do I convert a certain HZ range to DB?

Postby XiMe » Thu Nov 25, 2021 7:41 am

Hi!

I want to split the entire frequency range, for example 1000 hz.
And find out the volume of each section. In db. Or in some relative value.

I have a "Cutof" module ripped out of the compressor, but that's not what I need.

Eventually I want to make a mastering plugin. Analyse the reference, and automatically twist the EQ under it.

Help solve the problem.


This is similar to:
izotope tonal balance control

IMg:
https://www.desiretechno.com/wp-content ... curves.png
XiMe
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2021 7:27 am

Re: How do I convert a certain HZ range to DB?

Postby DynamicPhase » Sun Nov 28, 2021 5:57 pm

Don't know if this will help or not but a simple solution would be to filter the signal with both a low-pass and high-pass and then measure (with a picometer?) the filtered signal. Keep in mind depending on the filter the measuring won't be 100% accurate.
User avatar
DynamicPhase
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2021 4:01 pm

Re: How do I convert a certain HZ range to DB?

Postby jon_stoppable » Sun Nov 28, 2021 10:04 pm

I wrote this because I needed to measure 1/3 octave bands for an arbitrary amount of time, so the RMS calc only has a manual reset. But if you take the RMS calc from a standard compressor plug, that will give you control of the windowing.

This is an IIR implementation and of course wasn't designed for audio output. If you want much tighter control than 1/3 octave you'll probably want an FFT approach instead.
Attachments
31 band.fsm
(57.83 KiB) Downloaded 13 times
jon_stoppable
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 2:04 pm
Location: Elkton, VA

Re: How do I convert a certain HZ range to DB?

Postby XiMe » Mon Nov 29, 2021 10:29 am

DynamicPhase, If it's about the cutoff that can be found as a module in the compressor, I've tried it. It's not the right one. But thanks for the tip!
XiMe
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2021 7:27 am

Re: How do I convert a certain HZ range to DB?

Postby XiMe » Mon Nov 29, 2021 10:31 am

jon_stoppable wrote:I wrote this because I needed to measure 1/3 octave bands for an arbitrary amount of time, so the RMS calc only has a manual reset. But if you take the RMS calc from a standard compressor plug, that will give you control of the windowing.

This is an IIR implementation and of course wasn't designed for audio output. If you want much tighter control than 1/3 octave you'll probably want an FFT approach instead.


Ooh, that looks like just the thing! Thank you very much.

I'm just looking for an arbitrary moment. And I don't need the sound output through this thing. Just a frequency gap analysis.
That's very cool! :)
XiMe
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2021 7:27 am


Return to DSP

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests