Page 3 of 7

Re: FINALLY - a way to to OVERSAMPLE your schematic for real

PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2018 11:14 pm
by tulamide
Haha, that's how our brain works! I've been on that page a dozen times, but I could swear there never was Assembler info! :lol:

The newest version also failed. Only that this time the crash already happens when accessing the sound driver. I thought that the CPU might be in an undefined state due to the crashes, so I restarted the PC. No change. But all my other audio stream related schematics work, incl. the ones that contain asm code. Really strange.

Re: FINALLY - a way to to OVERSAMPLE your schematic for real

PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2018 11:33 pm
by RJHollins
I also checked the latest 'compat' version ... still crash 3.04 :cry:

Re: FINALLY - a way to to OVERSAMPLE your schematic for real

PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2018 11:38 pm
by KG_is_back
The most merciful thing in the world, I think, is the inability of the human mind to correlate all its contents. We live on a placid island of ignorance in the midst of black seas of infinity, and it was not meant that we should voyage far. The sciences, each straining in its own direction, have hitherto harmed us little; but some day the piecing together of dissociated knowledge will open up such terrifying vistas of reality, and of our frightful position therein, that we shall either go mad from the revelation or flee from the deadly light into the peace and safety of a new dark age.


I may have truly woken the Cthulhu on this one...

Re: FINALLY - a way to to OVERSAMPLE your schematic for real

PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2018 12:15 am
by KG_is_back
OK guys... I prepared an crash test. There is a dozen-or so tests that should or shouldn't crash depending as described in the comments inside. Please respond any anomalous behaviour (aka the schematic crashes where it shouldn't, doesn't crash where it should, gives incorrect values etc.).

Re: FINALLY - a way to to OVERSAMPLE your schematic for real

PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2018 12:37 am
by FlowStoner
KG, if it does not bother you,
could you add more comments to your code explaining what it does and why?
In this way we could understand and contribute.
thx

Re: FINALLY - a way to to OVERSAMPLE your schematic for real

PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2018 12:45 am
by FlowStoner
3.0.8.1 crash test passed, all as notes expected.

Re: FINALLY - a way to to OVERSAMPLE your schematic for real

PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2018 12:49 am
by tulamide
v3.0.6 report ("passed" means it behaved according to your comments):

test 1
trigger counter reads 4

test 2
passed

test 3
crashed
before crashing the text box was cleared of text

test 3b
passed
(text was cleared again before crashing)

test 3c
crashed
(text was cleared again before crashing)

test 4
passed

test 5
crashed

test 5b
passed

test 6
crashed
note: this is the first (update after all tests were run: and only) test, where (just as in the original schematic) not the Flowstone report message pops up, but the windows message

test 7
crashed

test 7b
crashed

test 8
crashed
(text was cleared again before crashing)

test 9
step 1 passed
step 2 crashed

Re: FINALLY - a way to to OVERSAMPLE your schematic for real

PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2018 1:03 am
by RJHollins
FS 3.04 - my 'Crash Test Dummy' report:

Test 1 - Trigger counter= 4

Test2 - pass

Test3 - CRASH upon connection.

Test3b - confirm CRASH

Test3c - CRASH

Test4 - pass

Test5 - CRASH upon connection.

Test5b - confirm CRASH

Test6 - CRASH upon connection.

Test7 - CRASH upon connection.

Test7b - Crash upon connection.

Test8 - CRASH upon connection.

Test9 - CRASH after activating ASIO

Re: FINALLY - a way to to OVERSAMPLE your schematic for real

PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2018 2:51 am
by KG_is_back
OK.... As I suspected, the ASM modules actually work properly. They jump the execution when provided with NULL pointer to a function and try to call function otherwise (and fail miserably, because the pointer is invalid).
The problem seems to be either RUBY or the "afterDup" prim (possibly both). For some reason, the module outputs an invalid pointer to a string (which holds the machine code for the "call of cuthulu").

Only change in ruby between 3.0.8 (last confirmed version to work) and 3.0.6 (last confirmed version to crash) is:
Fixed a bug that was causing Ruby errors to appear on loading when the Ruby code has no 'event' method


Here are few variants of the "Call of Cuthulu" module. Please, try these crash tests - they are just copies of test 8 but with different variants of the module. Hopefully one of them works...

Re: FINALLY - a way to to OVERSAMPLE your schematic for real

PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2018 5:01 am
by tulamide
You seem to have solved it!

All three test modules work. I was actually quite surprised, because I thought I'd be lucky if just one does its job! Well done!

Awesome. Now that you spotted the issue, I can't wait to hear the difference in oversampling. Btw, if it doesn't bother you too much: What exactly is the difference between your "function call" and the loop function of the DSP code editor?