Support

If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com

There are 3 sections to this support area:

DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers

HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects

USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here

Making a bridge wrapper OS

For anything not directly related to FlowStone

Making a bridge wrapper OS

Postby CoreStylerz » Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:02 am

Hi synthmakers.
I was thinking about the missing 64 bit in the roadmap, and an idea arrived to me.
If we make a community open source project to create a wrapper like jbridge but that we can deploy ourselves with our plugins?
Need websites or custom plugin web services?
PM me if you are interested.
Experienced Java, J2EE, PHP, Javascript, Angular, jQuery programmer
User avatar
CoreStylerz
 
Posts: 344
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 2:19 am

Re: Making a bridge wrapper OS

Postby KG_is_back » Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:16 am

That is actually not a bad idea at all. Unfortunately I cannot help in this matter - I have no Idea how such bridge works under the hood. If we specialize the bridge to work with FS without crashes, then we'll have a helofa-time bugfixing it on every new FS update.
KG_is_back
 
Posts: 1222
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: Making a bridge wrapper OS

Postby CoreStylerz » Thu Aug 14, 2014 11:35 am

KG_is_back wrote:That is actually not a bad idea at all. Unfortunately I cannot help in this matter - I have no Idea how such bridge works under the hood. If we specialize the bridge to work with FS without crashes, then we'll have a helofa-time bugfixing it on every new FS update.

I don't think so.
Look at jbridge. I mean, making a wrapper that acts like jbridge.
Need websites or custom plugin web services?
PM me if you are interested.
Experienced Java, J2EE, PHP, Javascript, Angular, jQuery programmer
User avatar
CoreStylerz
 
Posts: 344
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 2:19 am

Re: Making a bridge wrapper OS

Postby tulamide » Thu Aug 14, 2014 11:55 am

That's a tremendous task. jbridge is actively developed since at least 5 years now. Since you want it to be a community project, what would you contribute?
tulamide
 
Posts: 2028
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Making a bridge wrapper OS

Postby CoreStylerz » Thu Aug 14, 2014 12:38 pm

tulamide wrote:That's a tremendous task. jbridge is actively developed since at least 5 years now. Since you want it to be a community project, what would you contribute?

jbridge isn't a single man project?

Some birdges for linux seems to be made in c++ rather than assembly. But probably bridging for x64 may requires alot of assembly translations..
There are any bridge also in beta stage open source to look at code?
Need websites or custom plugin web services?
PM me if you are interested.
Experienced Java, J2EE, PHP, Javascript, Angular, jQuery programmer
User avatar
CoreStylerz
 
Posts: 344
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 2:19 am

Re: Making a bridge wrapper OS

Postby Nubeat7 » Thu Aug 14, 2014 3:36 pm

maybe this would be the tool you are looking for..
http://www.dllwrapper.com/dllwrapper_buy.htm

also this is an interesting article about
http://blog.mattmags.com/2007/06/30/acc ... -bit-code/
User avatar
Nubeat7
 
Posts: 1387
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:59 am
Location: Vienna

Re: Making a bridge wrapper OS

Postby CoreStylerz » Thu Aug 14, 2014 4:12 pm

Looks interesting the wrapper software.
But try i need to create an header file that specify what values (and sizes) are passed in the .dll.
I shall follows the VST SDK for these?
Need websites or custom plugin web services?
PM me if you are interested.
Experienced Java, J2EE, PHP, Javascript, Angular, jQuery programmer
User avatar
CoreStylerz
 
Posts: 344
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 2:19 am

Re: Making a bridge wrapper OS

Postby Exo » Thu Aug 14, 2014 5:13 pm

CoreStylerz wrote:Looks interesting the wrapper software.
But try i need to create an header file that specify what values (and sizes) are passed in the .dll.
I shall follows the VST SDK for these?


Yes if you download the vst sdk 2.4 there will be a header (.h) file that declares all the methods for a plugin. I cannot remember what it is called.
Flowstone Guru. Blog and download site for Flowstone.
Best VST Plugins. Initial Audio.
Exo
 
Posts: 439
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 8:58 pm
Location: UK

Re: Making a bridge wrapper OS

Postby Exo » Thu Aug 14, 2014 5:29 pm

Do Flowstone plugins work well with the existing wrappers out there?

Would be a good idea to check before anyone spends anytime on this.
Flowstone could be doing thing internally that might cause problems.
Flowstone Guru. Blog and download site for Flowstone.
Best VST Plugins. Initial Audio.
Exo
 
Posts: 439
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 8:58 pm
Location: UK

Re: Making a bridge wrapper OS

Postby Nubeat7 » Thu Aug 14, 2014 11:51 pm

i know they are working pretty well with jbridge and cubase bridge, are asking about this or if anyone tested some wrapper tool like the one above?

further there is the question if the vst sdk headers would be the one needed for this tool, maybe malc could have a look on it, i think he is the person who really should know if it makes sense to investigate into this or similar tools..

at the end i think wrappingthis way gets always counted on performance.. and the way to mac is still not done, the only wrapper i know for this would be winebottler (fl studio did their mac version with this) http://winebottler.kronenberg.org/
User avatar
Nubeat7
 
Posts: 1387
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:59 am
Location: Vienna

Next

Return to Off Topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron